News & Events Dots

The LMBP™ Workgroup

The Laboratory Medicine Best Practices Workgroup provides overall guidance and feedback on methods development and systematic evidence reviews carried out by the LMBP™ staff. The multidisciplinary Workgroup is composed of 13 members with expertise in laboratory practice, health services research, clinical practice, evidence-based reviews and health policy.


Laboratory Medicine Best Practices Work Group, 2012 2014

Robert H. Christenson, PhD, DABCC, FACB
Professor of Pathology, Professor of Medical and Research Technology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Clinical Director, Core Laboratories and Point of Care Services
University of Maryland Medical Center
John Fontanesi, PhD
Director, Center for Management Science in Health
University of California, San Diego School of Medicine
Julie Gayken, MT(ASCP), CLC(AMT)
Senior Director of Laboratory Services
HealthPartners and Regions Hospital
Sharon Geaghan, MD
Associate Professor, Departments of Pathology and Pediatrics
Stanford University School of Medicine
Christine Litwin, MD
Professor of Pathology
Clinical Microbiology and Immunology Medical Director
Georgia Health Sciences University
Thomas S. Lorey, MD
Medical Director, Regional Reference Laboratory
Kaiser Permanente Northern California Region
Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FNAP, FAAN
Associate Vice President for Health Promotion
University Chief Wellness Officer
Dean and Professor, College of Nursing, and Professor of Pediatrics & Psychiatry, College of Medicine, The Ohio State University
James Nichols, PhD, DABCC, FACB
Professor of Clinical Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
Medical Director, Clinical Chemistry
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Health Scientist Administrator
National Guideline Clearinghouse, National Quality Measures Clearinghouse & AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange, Center for Outcomes and Evidence, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Anton Piskac (Tony), MD
Vice President for Administration and Performance Improvement
Nebraska Methodist Health System
Jennifer Rhamy, MBA, MA, MT(ASCP)SBB, HP
Executive Director of the Laboratory Accreditation Program
The Joint Commission
Christopher Lee Roy, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Director of the BWH Hospitalist Service Brigham and Women's Hospital
Milenko Tanasijevic, MD, MBA
Director, Clinical Laboratories Division and Clinical Program Development, Pathology Department, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Associate Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School
Melissa Singer, MT(ASCP) ex officio
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Center for Clinical Standards and Quality
Survey and Certification Group
Division of Laboratory Services